Victorian Interschools Information

Event Introduction

The Victorian Interschools SnowSports Championships, were first staged in 1958 at Mt Buller. The first Schools to compete were Melbourne Grammar School and Scotch College. 2017 will be the 60th year that the Victorian Interschools SnowSports Championships will be conducted at Mt. Buller.

Since the early days of 1958 the Victorian Interschools SnowSports Championships (or Interschools) have grown to become one of the premiere School sporting competitions in Victoria. Over 170 Schools compete annually in the event held at Mt. Buller. In recent years there have been just under 6,000 entries in the event across 9 disciplines. A far cry from the first Interschools which consisted of 4 boys from Melbourne Grammar School and 4 boys from Scotch College competing in an Alpine Giant Slalom event. 

Today competitors have the choice of Alpine Giant Slalom, Snowboard Giant Slalom, Snowboard Cross, Ski Cross, Moguls, Cross Country Classical, Cross Country Freestyle Relay, Slopestyle Ski and Slopestyle Snowboard.

Event Disciplines

The Interschools Snowsports Championships are a series of

competitions in 9 disciplines:

  • Alpine GS -Skiers are timed on a modified giant slalom course
  • Ski Cross -Skiers are timed on a specifcally designed course with banked turns and rollers
  • Freestyle Moguls -Skiers are scored on a bumps/jumps course by three judges. Two judges on turns and one judge on air
  • Snowboard GS -Boarders are timed on a modified giant slalom course
  • Snowboardcross -Boarders are timed on a specifcally designed course with banked turns and rollers
  • Cross Country Classical -Raced classic cross country skis, with a mass start
  • Cross Country Relay -3 Person Relay team only event
  • Slopestyle Ski -Skiers are judged on a modified terrain park including jumps and features
  • Slopestyle Snowboard-Boarders are judged on a modified terrain park including jumps and features

Who Can Compete?

Competitors from all ability levels are encouraged to enter, with an emphasis on fun and participation.

Interschools is a team-based competition for students attending the same school, although individuals can enter when insufficient competitors are not available to form a team (except for the Cross Country Relay which is a team only event). 

Competitors can compete up a division to make a team. However, a primary school competitor can not race in a secondary division. Females can compete in a male team.

The top 3 teams and individuals are awarded in each event, except the Cross Country Relay where only the teams are recognised. The top 6 teams and top 15 individuals from an event are considered for an invitation to the Australian Championships. Events with less than 30 starters will qualify top 6 teams and top 10 individuals.

To achieve a team score, teams need to include:

  • 3-4 competitors for Alpine. Fastest 3 times in each run needed to achieve team result.
  • 2-3 competitors for Skiercross, Freestyle Moguls, Snowboard Giant Slalom, Snowboard Cross, Ski Slopestyle and Snowboard Slopestyle
  • Team results in Snowboard Cross, Ski Cross and Moguls are calculated on two best times/scores from the first qualifying run.
  • Snowboard Giant Slalom team result will be calculated by the fastest 2 runs in each of the two runs
  • Ski and Snowboard Slopestyle team results will be calculated by adding the two best competitors run scores together.
  • 3 competitors for the Cross Country Freestyle and Relay. The lowest combined times of all three team members will determine the team results.

Age Divisions

The Interschools races are conducted under divisions according to school year levels.

  • Division 1: Years 11 and 12
  • Division 2: Years 9 and 10
  • Division 3: Years 7 and 8
  • Division 4: Years 5 and 6
  • Division 5: Year 4 and under in all events except Alpine and Ski Cross
  • Division 6: Year Prep to Year 2 in Alpine skiing and Ski Cross only